Etisalat Prize for Literature finalists revealed

January 16, 2017 1:09 pm0 comments

Etisalat PrizeLAGOS, (CAJ News) – THE three finalists for the 2016 edition of the pan-African flagship literary prize, the Etisalat Prize for Literature, have been announced.
The three shortlisted books are The Seed Thief, And After Many Days and Mr
& Mrs Doctor.
These were written by Jacqui L’Ange (South Africa), Jowhor Ile (Nigeria) and Julie Iromuanya (Nigeria) respectively.
The authors were shortlisted by a three-member judging panel comprising Nigerian novelist and poet, Helon Habila (Chair of Judges); South African writer/activist, Elinor Sisulu; and Ivorian writer and Africa39 laureate, Edwige Renée Dro.
The winner for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be unveiled at the Grand Finale in Lagos, scheduled to take place in March 2017.
Chief Executive Officer, Etisalat Nigeria, Matthew Willsher, commended the judges for their diligence in selecting the top three books out of the tens of titles that were received following the call for entry.
The winner of the Prize receives £15 000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen, an Etisalat sponsored book tour to three African countries as well an Etisalat sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.
CAJ News


Leave a Reply