Contenders revealed for Etisalat accolade

January 4, 2017 12:36 pm1 comment
etisalat logo

etisalat logo

LAGOS, (CAJ News) – THE long list of nine books contesting for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature has been disclosed.
It is made up of entries from first-time authors whose books were published in the past 24 months.
The books are Mr. and Mrs. Doctor by Julie Iromuanya, The Yearning (Mohale Mashigo), Piggy Boy’s Blues (Nakhane Toure, The Peculiars (Jen Thorpe), Born on a Tuesday (Elnathan John), And After Many Days ( Jowhor Ile), Dub Steps ( Andrew Miller), The Seed Thief (Jacqui L’Ange), and Nwezelenga: The Star Child by Unathi Magubeni.
The authors are from Nigeria, South Africa and United States.
The winner of the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be announced in March. He will receive £15 000, an engraved pen and an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia.
Chief Executive Officer of Etisalat Nigeria, Matthew Willsher, endorsed the judges’ selection process.
“Each novel reflects a very interesting and dynamic perspective that will provoke intense conversations about different personal and societal issues,” he added.
The judging panel, comprises Nigerian novelist and poet, Helon Habila (Chair), South African writer/activist Elinor Sisulu and Ivorian writer and Africa39 laureate Edwige Rene Dro.
CAJ News


Leave a Reply