BroadbandCloudSouth AfricaTechnology

MTN Women in ICT award winners announced

JOHANNESBURG  – Dr Ricky (HF) Swanepoel has received the Lifetime Achiever Recognition (Women Pioneer) at the second MTN Women in ICT–Partnership for Change Awards.
Judges recognised her as “a woman who has longstanding success in the ICT  industry, has demonstrated a remarkable entrepreneurial spirit, and has continually stayed ahead of the curve.”
Swanepoel, Chief Technologist at Eskom Group’s Technology Engineering  Division, is described as a consummate professional with a career spanning over 27 years.
The recognition is the latest in a series of international and national awards recognising her expertise.
The Leadership Recognition Award went to Carol Thomas, Chief Information Officer of the South African Civil Aviation Authority. It recognises a senior female executive in the ICT sector whose proven depth of experience in leading change, influencing business outcomes and leading teams positively impacted on the organisation she leads.
Rene Pearson, Technical Director at Aurecon, clinched the Innovator Recognition Award, recognising a woman who has introduced new methods, ideas or products contributing to the delivery of a bold, new digital world.
The SME Recognition Award went to Matau Ramapuputla, the CEO of Moepi Publishing, which publishes children’s picture e-books.
Martine Schaffer founder of The Click Foundation, a non-profit
organisation that utilises technology to facilitate basic education for learners, received the Community Builder Recognition Award.
Fatima Mayet received the CEO’s Award.
Paula Gilbert and Simnikiwe Mzekandaba were joint recipients of the Excellence in ICT Journalism Award.
“On behalf of MTN, we wish to congratulate the winners for consistently distinguishing themselves with outstanding performance throughout their careers,” said Graham de Vries, Executive Corporate Services at MTN SA.
The annual initiative seeks to accelerate women’s participation in the ICT sector.
 CAJ News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button