New WASPA board eager to grow telecoms sector

March 23, 2018 2:27 pm1 comment
Anthony Ekerold, chairman of WASPA

Anthony Ekerold, chairman of WASPA

JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – ANTHONY Ekerold, the newly-installed chairman of the Wireless Application Service Providers’ Association (WASPA), is highly-motivated to make a positive contribution to the local telecommunications industry.

According to the organisation, he is the right person for the moment as South Africa rides a wave of optimism following the recent inauguration of President Cyril Ramaphosa and the country gears for growth.

Ekerold has recently been elected chair of South Africa’s self-regulating mobile content and applications industry association at its Annual General Meeting) in Randburg, north west of Johannesburg.

He will work closely with previous chair and current deputy, James McNab, during his twelve-month tenure.

Other WASPA committee members elected last week and their respective portfolios are Greg Brophy (Treasurer), Lianda Holleman (Code of Conduct), Tanya Howard-Thelander (Lobbying: Networks), Janene Matsukis (Lobbying: Regulatory), Riccardo Vallaro (Lobbying: Commercial) and McNab (Membership, Communications & PR).

Material changes to the 2018/2019 structure include the merging of the Membership, Communications and PR portfolios as well as the splitting of the lobbying portfolio into three sectors to better cover industry sectors important to WASPA.

A non-profit organisation, WASPA was founded in 2004 with the full support of the mobile network operators Cell C, MTN and Vodacom.

It has more than 400 members.
– CAJ News


Leave a Reply