BroadbandCompaniesMobile & TelecomsMovers & ShakersnewsSouth AfricaTechnology

Huawei, MTN boost partnership to expand digital services

MTN, photo by Gift Ndolwane, CAJ News

JOHANNESBURG – HUAWEI and MTN have strengthened their strategic partnership to bring cutting edge digital services to African business and consumers.

The business innovation memorandum of understanding (MoU) has been signed at the recently-concluded Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, Spain.

Li Dafeng of Huawei’s Executive Supervisory Board and Director of the Office of the ICT Infrastructure Business Management Committee said the signing of the the MoU would enhance strategic cooperation between the two parties in the future.

“Previously, we focused on building high-quality network serving end-users as well as on business requirements, scenarios, and business success. We believe Huawei’s outstanding innovation, R&D, and localized service capabilities will help MTN build differentiated competitiveness and leadership in its target markets,” Dafeng said.

Huawei has a 17-year working relationship with MTN.

Jens Schulte-Bockum, MTN Group Chief Operations Officer, said Huawei helped MTN build a top-quality network with leading technologies, excellent quality, and zero network security incidents.

“MTN continued to lead the ICT development in Africa and Middle East region, and most MTN markets operate in emerging countries and regions,” Schulte-Bockum said.

The executive said to further eliminate the digital divide in these countries, improve people’s lives and achieve the vision of Digital MTN, it was willing to work with Huawei to bring benefits to the public and society.

“MTN attaches great importance to cybersecurity, which is a global technical challenge. MTN will work with global partners to solve this problem and provide sustainable, stable, and reliable digital services for the public and society,” Schulte-Bockum said.

MTN, Africa’s largest mobile network has a total of more than 225,4 million subscribers across its operations in Afghanistan, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iran, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia.

– CAJ News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button